Summary: Hertsmere Borough Council elections

Summary: Hertsmere elections

Summary: Hertsmere elections

First published in News
Last updated
Borehamwood Times: Photograph of the Author by , Reporter

Conservatives lost one seat to Labour in yesterday's elections - here is a ward-by-ward breakdown of results.

Votes were counted last night from the Allum Lane Community Centre in Borehamdwood.

There were 13 seats up for election in total, with one councillor elected per ward. Here are the results:

  • Borehamwood Brookmeadow: Clive Butchins elected. Ward remains a Conservative seat.
  • Borehamwood Kenilworth: Jon Galliers elected. Ward is taken by the Labour party from Conservative candidate Pat Strack.
  • Elstree: Harvey Cohen elected. Ward remains a Conservative seat.
  • Shenley: Rosemary Gilligan retains her seat as Conservative councillor.
  • Borehamwood Cowley Hill: Michelle Vince elected. Ward remains a Labour seat.
  • Bushey North:  Jane Ann West retains seat.
  • Bushey Park: Anne Swerling elected. Ward remains a conservative seat.
  • Bushey St James: Peter Rutledge elected. Ward remains a Conservative seat.
  • Bushey Heath: Brenda Batten retains her seat as Conservative councillor.
  • Potters Bar Parkfield: Abhishek Sachdev elected. Ward remains a Conservative seat.
  • Potters Bar Furzefield: Martin Worster retains Conservative seat.
  • Potters Bar Oakmere: Ruth Lyon elected. Ward retained by Conservatives.

The overall turnout for the Hertsmere election was 34.08%.

There were no elections in Aldenham East or Aldenham West as the council currently holds 'elections by thirds’.

The make-up of the council is now:

  • 34 Conservative (35 before election)
  • 5 Labour (4 before election)

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree