The Brexit Party dominated the vote across the East of England region to emerge with the most seats after tonight's European Parliament Election Count.

Across the counties of Essex, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and Norfolk, 1,603,017 people voted out of an electorate of 4,407,975, with a turnout of 36.37 per cent and a total of 9,589 rejected votes.

The Brexit Part polled 604,715, almost 38 per cent of the total, with their nearest rivals the Liberal Democrats on 361,563 votes, or 22.62 per cent.

Fellow remainers The Green Party came third, with 202,460 votes (12.67 per cent), followed by the Conservatives on 163,830 votes (10.25 per cent) and then Labour on 139,490 (8.73 per cent). Change UK, a party formed by breakaway pro-Remain Labour and Conservative MPs, polled 58,274 votes, or 3.65 per cent.

This means the seven MEPs for the region are:

Richard Tice, Brexit Party

Michael Heaver, Brexit Party

June Mummery, Brexit Party

Barbara Gibson, Liberal Democrat

Lucy Nethsingha, Liberal Democrat

Catherine Rowett, Green

Geoffrey Van Orden, Conservative

The full results are as follows:

  • Change UK The Independent Group: 58,274 votes (3.65%)
  • Conservative and Unionist Party: 163,830 votes (10.25%)
  • English Democrats: 10,217 votes (0.64%)
  • Green Party: 202,460 votes (12.67%)
  • Labour Party: 139,490 votes (8.73%)
  • Liberal Democrats: 361,563 votes (22.62%)
  • The Brexit Party: 604,715 votes (37.83%)
  • UK Independence Party (UKIP): 54,676 votes (3.42%)
  • Independent (Attila Csordas): 3,230 votes (0.20%)