Conservatives hold on in Hertsmere

The Conservatives retained 11 seats, Labour retained one and gained one from the Tories in Hertsmere last night.

A total of 13 Hertsmere Borough Council seats were up for election, with one winner per ward.

The UK Independence Party did not do as well as expected, and an independent candidate almost secured the seat in Bushey North.

Speaking after the results were announced, Conservative MP for Hertsmere James Clappison said the outcome was proof the public thought the council was being well run.

The overall voting turnout across Hertsmere was 34.08 per cent, an increase on last year. The make-up of the council is now:

  • 34 Conservative (35 before election)
  • 5 Labour (four before election)

The results:

Borehamwood Brookmeadow

Clive Butchins - WinnerConservative822
Najaf RazaLabour635
Lawrence StackUK Independence Party505

Borehamwood Cowley Hill

Victor Okereke EniConservative475
Louise Michelle Vince - WinnerLabour796
James WardUK Independence Party656

Borehamwood Hillside

David John ApplebyUK Independence Party604
Sandra Parnell - WinnerConservative1060
Anthony Scott-NormanLabour767

Borehamwood Kenilworth

Jon Galliers - WinnerLabour595
Pat StrackConservative485
Frank WardUK Independence Party413


Harvey Cohen - WinnerConservative940
Daniel EltonLabour225
Antony GeeUK Independence Party197
Holly GunningLiberal Democrat62

Potter Bar Parkfield

Pauline DyerUK Independence Party594
Abhishek Sachdev - WinnerConservative1191
Harvey WardLabour385
Michael WillettLiberal Democrat226

Potters Bar Furzefield

David HoyUK Independence Party528
Kaylee MuldoonLabour367
Susan OatwayLiberal Democrat135
Martin Maurice Worster - WinnerConservative830

Potters Bar Oakmere

Saif Al-SaadoonLiberal Democrat81
John DoolanLabour407
John ImpeyUK Independence Party533
Ruth Lyon - WinnerConservative793


Derek BuchananLiberal Democrat91
Rosemary Gilligan - WinnerConservative749
Colin StanoiuLabour209
Eddie WymerUK Independence Party260

Bushey Heath

Brenda Batten - WinnerConservative1381
David BearfieldLabour252
Tracey ImpeyUK Independence Party218
Helen OakwaterLiberal Democrat121

Bushey North

Shailain ShahLiberal Democrat224
James SowerbuttsLabour280
Wayne ThomasIndependent446
Cathie WardUK Independence Party358
Jane West - WinnerConservative516

Bushey Park

Joanna GrindrodLabour260
Audrey McCrackenLiberal Democrat189
Anne Swerling - WinnerConservative826

Bushey St James

Tony BreslinLabour451
Edward Canfor-DumasGreen Party163
Nick GoldsteinLiberal Democrat185
Stuart PoleUK Independence Party390
Peter Rutledge - WinnerConservative956



Comments are closed on this article.


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree